New Mexico Commission for Deaf &
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Step by Step Guide for BEI Testing Registration

For more information contact:
nmcdhh.info@cdhh.nm.gov

505.383.6530 Voice/TTY

505.435.9319 Videophone for Sign Language Users

In 2021 the New Mexico Signed Language Interpreting Practices Board put into effect a rule
change to allow interpreters who hold certification from the Texas based Board for Evaluation of
Interpreters (BEI) of Advanced, BEI Master, BEI IV, BEI V, BEI Level IV Intermediary, or BEI
Level V Intermediary to qualify for a New Mexico Community Signed Language Interpreter
License. Below is an explanation of the BEI testing processes and how to register for an exam.
Please note that due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the BEI test is currently experiencing a
backlog of tests and limited registration opportunities for new testing applicants.

This fact sheet will cover the step-by-step process on how to register for the Test of English
Proficiency and the BEI performance exams of all levels as offered in the state of Texas. There
are also options to take these exams in Missouri, lllinois, Michigan, and Wisconsin. No BEI
exams are currently offered in New Mexico.

Registration Process for the Test of English Proficiency

Prior to taking the BEI performance exams, both hearing and Deaf interpreters must take and
pass the written Test of English Proficiency (TEP). In order to take this exam, you must be at
least 18 years of age, have a high school diploma or equivalent, have no qualifying criminal
convictions, and have earned at least 30 credit hours from an accredited college or university
with @ minimum 2.0 GPA.

The application form can be found here: Form 3908, Test of English Proficiency (TEP)
(texas.gov). To register for the exam follow the instructions below.

1. Locate your preferred testing site at Public Test Schedule (state.tx.us).

Submit the application for the TEP along with the testing fee of $95 to the

Texas Health and Human Services Commission

DHHS

Mail Code 3027

PO Box 12306

Austin, TX 78711

The testing fee in check or money order form should be made out to HHSC DHHS.

Once your application is approved you will receive an email confirming your registration

with your testing center’s contact information. You are responsible for contacting the

testing center to set up a testing appointment. The center may ask for a $10-$30 proctor

fee.

5. You must sit for your exam within 90 days of your testing confirmation. Results for the
test will be sent to your email approximately 30 days post-test.
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http://www.cdhh.nm.gov/
mailto:nmcdhh.info@cdhh.nm.gov
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/sites/default/files/documents/laws-regulations/forms/3908/3908.pdf
https://www.hhs.texas.gov/sites/default/files/documents/laws-regulations/forms/3908/3908.pdf
https://bei.hhsc.state.tx.us/PublicTestSchedule/Index

Registration Process for the BEI Performance Exams

To qualify for a New Mexico Community Interpreter License, hearing interpreters must hold a
certificate for the BEI Advanced, BEI Master, BEI IV, or BEI V. Deaf interpreters must hold a
certificate for the BEI Level IV Intermediary or BEI Level V Intermediary. However, hearing
interpreters must take and pass the Basic exam before proceeding to the Advanced or BEI
Master, and Deaf interpreters must take and pass the Level Il Intermediary exam before
proceeding to the Level V Intermediary exam. The BEI IV, BEI V, and BEI Level IV Intermediary
performance exams are no longer offered to new test applicants, but previously earned
certificates will be accepted.

To take any of these performance exams, you must have passed the Test of English
Proficiency, have no qualifying criminal convictions, and have earned an associates degree or
at least 60 credit hours from an accredited college or university with a minimum 2.0 GPA.

The application form can be found here: Form 3909, Interpreter Performance Test Application |
Texas Health and Human Services. Please note that the form can only be opened online by
using the Internet Explorer browser. To register for the exam follow the instructions below.

1. Locate your preferred testing site and date at Public Test Schedule (state.tx.us). Please
note that it may take up to 30 days to process your application. Performance exam dates
must be booked 90 days in advance. It is recommended that you send in at least two
preferred days. If your preferred dates are not available you will be enrolled for the next
available test.

2. Submit the application for the test you would like to take along with the testing fee

(amount found in application packet) to the

Texas Health and Human Services Commission

DHHS

Mail Code 3027

PO Box 12306

Austin, TX 78711

The testing fees in check or money order form should be made out to HHSC DHHS.

4. Once your application is approved you will receive an email confirming your registration
with your testing date.

5. Your test results will be sent to you within 90 days of your exam.
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